Destiny Beta Progress Will Be Wiped at Launch
Regardless of how many hours you may have put into the beta stage of Destiny last month, your progress and characters will be deleted in time for the full launch date for the game, Bungie has confirmed.
Unsurprisingly, all data made in the Destiny beta will be wiped, similarly to how alpha content was deleted before the beta was launched. However, Bungie have mentioned that the beta wipe will be the last time players will have to say goodbye to their characters and saved data.
Whilst this may not be much of an issue for the majority of you, it's understandable that some players may be frustrated with the wipe after coming across rare gear or weapons that they may not have much luck with in the full game.
However, as the game was in beta stage, players should have expected their gameplay progress to be wiped before playing, so there's no real reason to get angry at Bungie for the new beta wipe.
The main cause for the wipe is because Bungie have been constantly tweaking the balancing of the game, changing experience rewards, loot drops and more, and these changes would make it unfair for those players who didn't get the chance to play in the beta.
A designer at Bungie, Tyson Green, wrote on a blog to address the wipe, "Since the Beta, we've continued to tune and adjust the game. The way you earn experience has been adjusted up and down a bunch of times. Items have been added and removed. New features toggled. Although there's no single monumental change, the sum of the tweaks leaves characters from the Beta Build in strange shape that would be confusing at best, broken at worst."
Evil Controllers will still be creating the Master Mod which is anticipated to be compatible with this first person shooter! Check out our site and see what designs we have in store! www.EvilControllers.com